Any student who is driven in a car on a school-sponsored field trip and meets the California legal requirements for car seats and booster seats, MUST have one in the vehicle they are being driven in. It is the law. Please click on the link regarding the Ca car seat and booster seat law to see if your child needs one.
California Car Seat and Booster Seat Law
Current California Law:
Children under 2 years of age shall ride in a rear-facing car seat unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds OR is 40 or more inches tall. The child shall be secured in a manner that complies with the height and weight limits specified by the manufacturer of the car seat. (California Vehicle Code Section 27360.)
Children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat.
Children who are 8 years of age OR have reached 4’9” in height may be secured by a booster seat, but at a minimum must be secured by a safety belt. (California Vehicle Code Section 27363.)
Passengers who are 16 years of age and over are subject to California's Mandatory Seat Belt law.
When can a child graduate to a booster seat?
California law does not address graduation time from a five point harness to a booster seat. In the interest of safety, do not rush to move a child into a booster seat before they’re ready. Each time you “graduate” your child to the next seat, there’s a reduction in the level of protection for your child. Keep your child in each stage for as long as possible.
A child is ready for a booster seat when they have outgrown the weight or height limit of their forward-facing harnesses, which is typically between 40 and 65 pounds. Read the forward-facing car seat’s owner’s manual to determine height and weight limits, and keep your child in a harnessed seat for as long as possible.
Children at this stage are not yet ready for adult safety belts and should use belt-positioning booster seats until they are at least 4’9″ and between 8 and 12 years old. Safety belts are designed for 165-pound male adults, so it’s no wonder that research shows poorly fitting adult belts can injure children.
When on Campus
We are so happy to welcome volunteers and visitors back to our campus! Things may have changed due to Covid, so please read on to see how to make your visit to Harmony safe for all:
Classroom and program volunteers must be scheduled ahead of time with the classroom teacher or program leader.
Please check in at the front office to sign in at our computer kiosk and receive a visitor pass. Please wear your visitor pass in a visible place for the entirety of your visit.
Masks will be strongly recommended indoors as of 3/18. Masks are optional outdoors.
When eating, please, maintain a 6 ft distance from other individuals.
Please check out at the office at the end of your visit and return your visitor's pass.
If you are dropping something off for your student, please leave it at the front office. Your student will be called up to retrieve it.
Dogs are not allowed outside of vehicles, or unattended in vehicles on campus at any time.
Requirements for Vounteering with Students
Requirements for volunteers who wish to be on campus and will be around students:
~Negative antigen Covid test within 24 hours of volunteer visit- can be done on campus
~Cleared fingerprint screening
Fingerprint Screening Information
Fingerprint screening can be obtained at the following places: